Never carve your lists in stone

My days at the office, I think, are sometimes an indication of my life. They start out somewhat slow, (if I choose to ignore the blinking red message light on my phone for a bit) but then before you know it, boom! They are jam-packed with activity. Messages, emails, people in my office, out of my office, tracking me down, talking to me in the hallway, I’m writing things on my hand so I won’t forget to do this, delete that, send that email, file that info, format that newsletter, fax that prescription. I get a small break. Deep breath. I sit down and sip my coffee (that ALWAYS helps, I don’t care where I am or what time of day it is) and wrap my head around what’s next. I compile my messy stack of post-its and scratch paper scribblings and make an organized list. Making lists also helps me feel better, like I have some kind of a proverbial grip on the situation. Then I start down the list with every intent of being tenacious and unrelenting in my dedication to get.that.list. done before I get one more interruption! Ha. ha. ha. How naive! I don’t why I hold out even one shred of hope that I will have any amount of time that is uninterrupted. Silly, silly me. So, inevitably, I get an urgent phone call, or someone knocks on my office door with a request that supersedes the top prioritized item in position #1. These are how my weekdays are spent, if you are curious. At the end of the day I kind of survey the damage and assess how to move forward the next day.

(I’m sorry if that description seems like an analogy turned into work stress vent session. it just comes out, people. But don’t worry, I’m about to make an application.)

Sometimes I feel like life, in certain seasons, starts out slow. I don’t really know where I’m going or what I’m doing. Then I get caught up in the busyness of, whatever. Of life. Then I stop to consider, what am I doing? Am I relying on God? Am I trusting Him with my future? Am I seeking Him first in those quiet moments of the day before the chaos sets in? What direction am I heading, and what have I lost in the whirlwind? When my all-important life list gets the kabosh from God, am I willing to give it up and put His desire for my life at position #1? (Proverbs 16:9 says, “The mind of man plans his way, but the Lord determines his steps.”) I hope so, because I don’t want to be left at the end of my life surveying the damage and trying to make sense of it all. I want God to say to me, “Well done, my good and faithful servant.”

 

Leave a Reply

