Zing!

I’m reading through the Bible chronologically. I’m in Deuteronomy right now. I’ll admit, some of the Old Testament is quite repetitive and not exactly that uh… thrilling. Frankly, it’s also gross in some places, in a TMI kind of way. (Don’t read Leviticus if you have any kind of an aversion to puss. OK, OK, Leviticus is actually worth reading. There are some gems in there.) But, a LOT of the OT is so exciting! The stories are crazy! Crazy. But they’re true. It’s a HISTORY book. Factual and real. Tonight though, I’m reading through Deuteronomy. …um, I may be a little behind in the schedule, so let’s just say I was not reading at the slowest, most meticulous pace I’ve ever read. In Deuteronomy, Moses is hanging out with the Israelites in Moab, before they enter the Promised Land, basically recapping the Ten Commandments for them and reminding them of all the awesome things God did for them post-Egypt. So my eyes are whizzing down the page, pulling out the gist of each chapter and all the important phrases -God brought you out of Egypt, He gave you water from a rock and manna from the sky. Calm down and obey Him. He loves you so love Him back. Yep, yep, noted.  But then my eyes hit this passage, and ZING!

For the Lord your God is God of gods and Lord of lords, the great God, mighty and awesome, who shows no partiality nor takes a bribe. He administers justice for the fatherless and the widow, and loves the stranger, giving him food and clothing.  Therefore love the stranger, for you were strangers in the land of Egypt. You shall fear the Lord your God; you shall serve Him, and to Him you shall hold fast, and take oaths in His name. He is your praise, and He is your God, who has done for you these great and awesome things which your eyes have seen. (Deuteronomy 10:17-21)

I stop. I read it again. I let it sink in. I continue reading and the words sink deep into me. These are the words that electrocuted me tonight. I realize this is a work of the Holy Spirit (the master of Zing! moments), and that Zing! moments are mostly personal, but I still had a desire to share this passage. God’s word is alive! It’s sharper than a two-edged sword and it cuts deep. Most reading is fun (or at least interesting) the first time, and some books you can read several times over. But what other book can you read every day, over and over and over again until you die and are never bored? Honestly, the Bible is so fun to read. It’s interactive, entertaining and always applicable. Even if I have to force myself to open the heavy leather bound book, with too many study notes for me to even think about, I’m always glad I did. And usually, the more I read, the more fun it gets!

If you haven’t read your Bible lately – get it out. Open it up. Read it. You will not be disappointed. If you have, keep it up! It just gets better and better.

master-of-zingThe Holy Spirit probably doesn’t look like this, but I found this image and it really fits my mental picture how these moments happen.

Leave a Reply

